It’s Embarrassing To Fly The Flag (or the parenthetical ravings of a patriotic, lunatic mind)…

It’s embarrassing to fly the flag (or the parenthetical ravings of a patriotic, lunatic mind) for many, particularly those on the left . This 4th of July holiday (for the less informed, that’s aka Independence Day) I didn’t see many flags hanging in my neighborhood. Sure, I assumed the next door neighbors wouldn’t – 2 days prior to the 2008 election they put up an Obama/Biden sign. They’d probably think blatant displays of the flag to be “cheeky” (they say things like cheeky, it’s very Euro). But I guess I thought there’d be more displays of patriotism on the 4th, particularly here in The South.

Listen, my country has lots of needed improvement, I mean, we are populated by human beings after all, but I’ve been around – to virtually all the states (I’m still coming Alaska), and to a dozen countries – some modern and industrial; others, your basic third-worlders. Nobody comes close to our country (OK, Australia, you’re not too shabby). We are, by far, are the most multi-cultural country in the world (most countries are fighting people who look like each other and have the same religion – or have given up on religion). We are way wealthy (95% of our families have at least one car, two cell phones, a couple TV’s, a refrigerator, probably a washer/dryer combo, are overweight, many of the “poor” I see in college, blah, blah, blah…). When it comes to the history of the world, we kick ass (even at this particularly, 1970’s-like time). So why are we so embarrassed?

Here’s a quote/essay I found interesting:

“For many years the only flag enthusiast in our household was my husband, a Southerner who served in the army during the Vietnam era. His devotion – he has never missed a holiday – was slightly embarrassing to me. I loved my country, but I wanted to perfect it. I went into journalism in hopes of improving it. Mine was a somewhat querulous love. It certainly wasn’t overt or emotional…

That all changed after the Sept. 11 terrorist attacks…

The emotional aftermath of that day has stayed with me all these years. It’s not that I suddenly became blind to my country’s flaws. But practically overnight I began to feel a visceral love for its ideals and possibilities, and a strong protective urge. The idea of America the vulnerable, America under threat, was new. Driving back to Washington a few days after the attacks, I was beside myself on behalf of the cows in the fields I passed. They tried to kill you, I said to the cows. My country’s cows. My cows…

Granted, it’s sometimes hard to love this country as it is, but it’s easy to love it for what it aims to be.”

Jill Lawrence, Politics Daily

Read her entire column here: http://www.politicsdaily.com/2010/07/04/another-patriotic-holiday-another-day-of-liberal-flag-avoidance/

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

