In 2008 I Was Thinking The Very Same Thing…

In 2008, I was thinking the very same thing that Rex Murphy elucidates in his article (see link below). I’ve always considered Barack Obama a bit of a snake oil salesman. He had one good line at the 2004 Democrat Convention,

“… there is not a liberal America and a conservative America – there is the United States of America. There is not a Black America and a White America and Latino America and Asian America – there’s the United States of America.”

And suddenly he’s anointed. Hope and Change baby. Can’t We All Just Get Along? It was like something out of “Henry Fool” or “Elmer Gantry” – or the L.A. riots of ’92.

Sure, careers have begun and ended on one memorable line, but I never got it. Sure, he can read prepared speeches well (who writes these things I don’t know, but they’ve gotten the boring platitude down quite nicely), but “there’s no there, there.”

My hunch is, with all his Hollywood connections, he would have made a great documentary narrator. But President of the United States? Hell,  a few weeks ago in Pittsburgh, I saw John Lithgow narrating “Requiem For Mozart”. It was incredible. I was inspired. Let’s nominate him!

During the election 13 months ago, I wondered if I was missing what everyone else thought so obvious. Maybe the world isn’t flat and I’d missed it. Maybe the Emperor was wearing a new and fashionable outfit. And so, unlike the hip harmonies of today, I proverbially find myself listening to old country music and thinking I’ve officially become one of the ancients (ironically, I’m the same age as Barack Obama). Maybe time had passed ME by.

But “hope springs eternal.” Read what Mr. Murphy writes in his article, interestingly titled: “Why Time Passed Obama By“. As a fellow writer, one of the more interesting statements struck a chord:

“His eloquence is fading, more people now find it more a trick of rhythm and cadencea mannerism – rather than felt thought in memorable language.”

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/opinions/why-time-passed-obama-by/article1415232/

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

